Committee Members


Paul Anderson, MD

Dr. Anderson is an orthopedic spine surgeon with special interest in spine trauma, tumors, cervical spine, and geriatric spinal diseases. With undergraduate and Masters degrees from The University of Michigan in Chemical Engineering he completed medical school and residency at Wayne State University and a spine fellowship under Dr. Henry Bohlman (Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland). He is currently Professor of Orthopedic Surgery and Adjunct Professor in Neurological Surgery and Bio-medical Engineering at the University of Wisconsin. He has been President of the Cervical Spine Research Society, is currently President of the Lumbar Spine Research Society and has held various positions in a number of spinal and orthopedic societies. Most recently, he became a member of the "Own the Bone" Steering Committee of the American Orthopedic Society which aims to educate physicians and patients on the importance of bone health and promote fracture liaison services.

Yonatan Ben-Shalom, PhD

Dr. Ben-Shalom is a senior researcher at Mathematica Policy Research, with expertise in policies and programs related to the employment and income of people with disabilities—especially those who acquire disability in adulthood such as workers and veterans. He directs the Stay-at-Work/Return-to-Work Policy Collaborative, a project funded by the Office of Disability Employment Policy at the U.S, Department of Labor. The Collaborative focuses on advancing policies and programs that promote positive SAW/RTW outcomes for workers who experience a chronic illness, disability, or medical condition that increases their risk for labor force exit. Dr. Ben-Shalom has served as principal investigator for numerous studies funded by the Social Security Administration and the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research. He has a Ph.D. in Economics from the Johns Hopkins University.